Top-Rated Online Tutoring in Plymouth

Book a free one-to-one trial lesson with one of our top tutors in Plymouth to begin improving your child's grades and help them feel more confident.

Private 50-minute lessons for pupils in Plymouth
We match our tutors to your child's needs
We cover all subjects on the curriculum in Plymouth
95% of students improve with GoStudent: 1,628 UK/IRE parents and students surveyed March 2023

Our tutors in Plymouth

Thomas Ainsworth
I can teach Maths at GCSE and Key Stage 3. I achieved A* in A level maths, grade 9 in GCSE further maths and A* in GCSE further maths. I achieved A in A-Level Physics, Biology and Chemistry, GSCE 8 in chemistry and physics, 7 in Biology. I have completed GCSEs with AQA and Edexcel. I have completed A levels with OCR (biology), AQA (chemistry and physics) and Edexcel (maths). Within my volunteering with St John Ambulance, there have been various Cadets at the Units I have supported with SEND needs; in particular autism and anxiety related needs. I am most comfortable with high school and above age ranges, specialising in KS3 and GCSE syllabi. My background in teaching comes from my volunteer work with St John Ambulance. I completed my Level 3 Award in Education and Training (AET) with the charity in November 2022 and actively volunteer as Youth Leader as well. I have been training on courses since September 2020 as a Demonstrator and training within the local Cadet Units at Bolton and Horwich for many years up to that point. I joined through the youth program at age 5 (September 2006). My main role is as a District Training Officer, which I have held since November 2020. This includes planning, staffing and resourcing courses, ensuring candidates have the relevant information, ensuring background processes are followed for registering and processing courses and learners, support local volunteer Units with developing their training plan, support training deliverers (trainers, assessors, demonstrators, Cadet Demonstrators) and ensure we are training the right courses to meet the local demands. I am very passionate about my volunteer work and it has helped me find my love of training and teaching, particularly around young people. I have a lot of treasured memories but there are three that stand out in particular are managing the first ever "First Aid Hypercentre" in the country, where we trained around 50 new volunteers in one First Aid course - we usually train 16. The other memory that sticks out was having the priviledge to be a Treatment Centre Manager during the night shifts of Operation London Bridge (national period of morning following the passing of HRH Queen Elizabeth II), including the very first night shift which was the night after her death was announced. I received a commendation for this. The third memory that sticks out was receive a commendation from the District Manager in 2020 for "for having gone above and beyond your normal role within the charity". I have a dog and enjoy looking after her and taking her for daily walks. I find this relaxing and a good way to de-stress. I am a big fan of music across a multitude of genres includes punk, reggae, ska, rock, yodelling, metal and hip hop. I own 3 guitars, a keyboard, a drum machine and a pair of bongo drums. This is a great way for me to relax and explore my passion of music. One of the highlights in my month is the monthly jam night at my local pub where people can get together, have a laugh, and play some tunes together. It doesn't matter if you sound bad because it's all about having fun.
Maths (lower level), Maths (upper level)
Jack Drayton
Levels and Subjects I Teach: GCSE: Maths A-Level: Maths, Physics Exam Board Experience: Edexcel, AQA Languages: I currently don't speak any other languages except for English. SEND (Special Education Needs and Disability) Experience: I currently don't have any SEND experience. Preferred Student Age Group: GCSE A-Level About me: Hello, my name is Jack and I'm currently studying Engineering Mathematics at the University of Bristol. I'm very passionate about the degree that I'm pursuing so that comes with my passion for both Physics and Maths. If I'm not in uni, I'm normally playing football or getting locked into a very binge-able TV series. During my years in secondary school and sixth form, I tutored a variety of age groups and while helping them I was able to develop strong revision tools that not only helped them but also helped me a lot. I hope to provide key tools to aid revision and help you achieve your dream grades!
Maths (lower level), Maths (upper level), Physics
Taher Ahmed
Hello, I'm Taher Ahmed, a dedicated tutor with a focus on GCSE Mathematics, GCSE Science, GCSE Computer Science, A-level Mathematics, and A-level Computer Science. With over a year of experience in online tutoring and private sessions, I've assisted students in subjects like Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics. My background includes six months at Excel Tutor, aiding GCSE and A-level students. I believe in fostering a positive learning environment, ensuring each student feels supported. As an undergraduate at Queen Mary, my multicultural background enhances my adaptability and communication skills. Achieving top grades in A-levels and GCSE Mathematics reflects my commitment to academic excellence. With experience in sales and insights from virtual work at Vodafone and a placement at Fujitsu, I offer a diverse skill set. Volunteering at Poplar Mosque underscores my dedication to community service. Proficient in web development and programming languages, my multilingual skills in English, Italian, French, and Bengali add depth to my communication. Beyond academics, my interests in gaming, coding, chess, and sports showcase a well-rounded personality. As a nanny, I bring a blend of academic rigor, multicultural understanding, and a creative approach to engaging with children.
Computer Science, Maths (lower level), Maths (upper level), Physics, Science
Wabo Dhlamini
Lower level: English, GCSE: English and A level: English I speak English, C2 level. Preferred student age group: Any I live in South Africa, I have a Masters degree in Chiropractic and I have 2 years of experience in helping students with academic writing. I enjoy watching health documentaries, movies, hanging out with friends and taking long walks at the beach.
Georgia Wager
Levels and subjects Lower level: French, German, English, History, GCSE: English Literature and Language, German, French, History, Business Studies A Level: German, History, Business Studies Exam Board experience: AQA, OCR, WJEC, London Consortium, 11+ Languages: French (C1), German (C1), Spanish (A2) Preferred age: Primary, GCSE, A-Level I have been working as a tutor since 2021, helping students prepare for exams at both GCSE and A Level. Having experienced the stresses that this period in academia can bring, I bring a personable and attentive approach to learning. I specialise in tutoring English, German, History, French and preparing students for the 11+ exams. I have assisted students successfully in the 11+ consortium test, as well as for independent schools' examinations. Some of the students I have tutored have gained entry to the South Hampstead High School and Northwood College for Girls. The structure of my lessons are based around these main components: Retrieval of key information at the outset to ascertain your child's working level, and adapting the lesson based on this Empowering your child to approaching challenging questions with confidence Incorporating multimedia resources, ensuring a dynamic and engaging learning experience Customising teaching using parent and school feedback, along with personal analysis, to develop effective lesson plans for optimal progress.
11+, Business Administration, English, German, History
Sara Shafiq
A-level: Mathematics GCSE: Mathematics Exam board experience is with Edexcel for both A-Level and GCSE I am an undergraduate studying mathematics at the University of Birmingham. I love baking and I also like to keep active by going to the gym! I am passionate about helping students to become confident in the work they do and I hope to spread some of the insight I have acquired over the years.
Maths (lower level), Maths (upper level)

Try one-to-one tutoring today

Our community of trusted tutors has been carefully selected to best support your child’s learning journey. Get a free trial lesson now.

Personalised lesson pricing for tutoring in Plymouth

Tailor your price by setting lesson frequency and package duration
lesson / month
lesson duration:
50 minutes
membership duration:
We offer lesson packages as part of 6, 12 or 24 month memberships.
average cost per lesson:
lesson / month
lesson duration:
50 minutes
membership duration:
We offer lesson packages as part of 6, 12 or 24 month memberships.
average cost per lesson:
Need a different package?
Contact us for a custom quote.

Getting started is as easy as 1-2-3

How to sign up for your membership

Meet your Education Advisor

Every learning journey begins by setting goals with your personal Education Advisor so we can match your child with the right tutor.

Take a free trial lesson

We'll invite you to join a free trial lesson with one of our top tutors so both you and your child can see how GoStudent works, no obligations.

Customise your membership

Your Education Advisor will help you book a customised lesson package tailored to your child's long-term learning needs.

FAQs about tutoring in Plymouth

Discover how to set up your GoStudent membership, find a tutor, and sign your child up for lessons
How affordable is private tuition in Plymouth?
Which subjects can GoStudent help with in Plymouth?
What are the benefits of private tutoring in Plymouth for your child?
How can my child benefit from online tuition in Plymouth?